Home

2008 Ford Edge transmission replacement cost

Fully Tested · Free Quote

  1. We Specialize In Providing Quality Used & Reman Ford Edge Transmissions. Ford Transmissions -Extensive Selection Available, Call Us Toda
  2. Our Enormous Inventory Includes More Than 10 Million Auto Parts. We Offer OEM, Aftermarket, Refurbished and Rebuilt Auto Parts From Trusted Manufacturers
  3. Includes parts and labor $5,540 - $5,959 Important Info & Definitions Valid for ZIP Code 98848 About Transmission Repair and Replacement A transmission takes your engine's energy and delivers it to..
  4. Ford Edge Repairs and Prices The average repair cost for a 2008 Ford Edge is between $499 and $610
  5. The average price of a 2008 Ford Edge transmission fluid change can vary depending on location. Get a free detailed estimate for a transmission fluid change in your area from KBB.co
  6. Ford Edge Transmission Models. Ford Edge: 6F50 Transmission. Ford Edge Transmission Replacement Cost Estimate. Pricing varies by model. To be 100% sure on pricing, have your VIN# handy and use our Get An Estimate feature to look up your transmission by VIN#.. Replacement 6F50 Transmission
  7. t condition, only 25K miles on it. Now only 8 months and 7K miles later my transfer case broke in half... to fix it, it will..

The Bottom Line - Ford Transmission Repair Cost The average Ford transmission repair cost is between $1,800 and $3,400 to replace the transmission, between $800 and $1,500 for a salvaged mechanism, and between $1100 and $2,800 to rebuild the transmission Cost to Replace Ford Edge Transmission - References. We recommend the following online resources for trustworthy information about Ford Edge maintenance, repair and service. These resources deliver honest real world ownership perspectives and useful facts for anyone researching the cost to replace the transmission on the Ford Edge The repair cost chart excludes repairs made under warranty, do-it-yourself repairs, and repair trips that include maintenance. 2019 Ford Edge 4dr SUV turbocharged 335hp 2.7L V6 8-speed shiftable automatic AW 2008 Ford Taurus Limited. I suspect the TSS/OSS sensors in the transmission. Appears to be the same one used in the edge. If I could get the replacement instructions, that would be great. read mor 2008 Ford escape Transmisson replacement

Reman Transmissions at - Street Smart® Transmissio

Welcome to the Ford car and truck information page of Certified Transmission. Certified Transmission is a leader in the remanufacturing of transmissions for all types of Ford vehicles and can ship our transmissions anywhere in the United States. From a Ford Fusion with a V6 3.0 engine needing an AF40 transmission, to a F450 Ford truck with a V8. 2008 Ford Edge Auto Parts. ∕. 2008 Ford Edge Drivetrain. ∕. 2008 Ford Edge Transmission

Cost to Rebuild Ford Edge Transmission - References We recommend the following online resources for trustworthy information about Ford Edge maintenance, repair and service. These resources deliver honest real world ownership perspectives and useful facts for anyone researching the cost to rebuild the transmission on the Ford Edge Automatic Transmission FWD 2.77 Ratio ID 7T4P-7000-CB Fits 07-09 EDGE 4160045 (Fits: 2008 Ford Edge) $476.88. Was: $574.56. Free shipping. or Best Offer The transmission speed sensor is a magnetic sensor that provides this information, allowing the transmission to shift smoothly. The sensor counts the internal number of revolutions of the transmission and transmits that information to the transmission control unit, where the data is used to determine the rotational speed

The average cost for a Ford Edge trans oil cooler line replacement is between $374 and $426. Labor costs are estimated between $201 and $253 while parts are priced at $173. This range does not include taxes and fees, and does not factor in your specific model year or unique location. Related repairs may also be needed Automatic Transmission Control Module problem of the 2008 Ford Edge 1. Failure Date: 06/07/2021. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds the vehicle would not properly accelerate and the engine would misfire. Also on occasions the check engine light had illuminated and the speed would not. 2008-2011 FORD TAURUS 3.5L ENGINE CONNECTING ROD W/ PISTON OEM 183666 (Fits: 2008 Ford Edge) $49.40. Was: $52.00. or Best Offer. FAST 'N FREE The 2008 Ford Edge has 4 problems reported for power transfer unit failure. Average repair cost is $1,850 at 79,750 miles Check if this fits your 2008 Ford Edge. Notes: Long block, Reman. 8G-222-AA/AB. With Cooler. ***Call for FORD_Engines ONLY at 1-877-9FORDAZ or 1-877-936-7329 for pricing and availability.***. PRICE: 4799.99. Part: 7T4Z6006AARM. SKU: 705394. Warranty: 3 Year Warranty

Common services included in the 2008 Ford Edge V6-3.5L 150,000 mile maintenance service. Service Name. Air Filter Replacement. Cabin Air Filter Replacement. Serpentine/Drive Belt Replacement. Change Oil and Filter. Cooling System Flush. Rotate Tires. Transmission Fluid Service If the transmission seal replacement cost is too high for your wallet or for the value of your car, I have to change my transmission seal on my motorhome e 450 2008 a 5 torque shift transmission .so, i.d like to know the approximately the cost for doing the job. so i do a budget to paid the job.thank-you How to fix, or remove and install a power transfer unit, or power take off differential on a Ford Edge. May be the same for a Mazda CX-7. I would recommend a.. The Edge is a car-based SUV with a 3.5-liter V6 engine mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. All-wheel drive is available, but the Ford crossover SUV doesn't offer a third-row seat 2008 Ford Edge Repair Histories. See our lemon odds and nada odds page to see vehicles with no repairs or vehicles with more than three repairs. To see how frequently 2008 Ford Edge problems occur, check out our car reliability stats

Great Customer Service · Free Shipping To Lower 4

DIY COST: $35 to $45. DIY SAVINGS: $140 to $190. Normally the transmission fluid that is drained from the pan when replacing a solenoid or solenoid pack is reused. If you choose to replace this fluid with new fluid the approximate cost is $20 to $50. ATF costs between $6 and $10 per quart and you will need 3 to 5 quarts The Ford service manual has this as the first action item when removal/replacement of the engine is required. You have to remove the engine mounts to the body but the transmission mounts and rear engine mount at the subframe can easily support the engine load. Done this at least a hundred times without fault

2008 Ford Edge problems: The most common reliability

to replace the output speed sensor ( i just finished doing mine i bought it from ford for 40 bucks and tax if you put the edge on good size ramps and put on the parking brake remove the entire air box on the front right remove the wheel well cover and locate the black cover on the front of the transmission (behind the raidiator)the output speed. Only a few complained about severe steering, oil filter, and transmission problems. It is likely that these few cases are results of production defects. 2008 Ford Edge 2009 Ford Edge 2010 Ford Edge 2011 Ford Edge Repair and maintenance of Ford Edge cars cost more than the average repair for other midsize SUVs Transmission Shift Solenoid Replacement Cost. A single shift solenoid's replacement cost is between $100 and $350 and a shift solenoid pack costs between $400 and $700, including transmission fluid, filter, parts, and labor work. The replacement cost of a shift solenoid replacement depends a lot on what car model and transmission model you have Buy high quality used 2008 Ford Edge engine cheap and fast. All our 2008 Ford Edge engines come with a 1-year warranty, FREE shipping and 30-day money back guarantee. We carry 87 blocks that will fit your car or truck in stock, ready to ship Choose for Me to Minimize Cost Choose for Me to Minimize Cost Torque Converter. Transmission Repair Manual. Intentionally blank: Intentionally blank: Related Parts. FORD > 2008 > EDGE > 3.5L V6 > Transmission-Automatic > Automatic Transmission Assembly. Price: Core: Total: Alternate: No parts for vehicles in selected markets. MOTORCRAFT Reman

Ford Edge - Used & Reman Transmission

  1. what i would try first is a transmission flush. not just a transmission service where 3-4 quarts of fluid is replaced but all of the fluid. you could do this yourself and at the same time replace the filter. drop the pan and change the filter, then remove the bell housing plate and locate the drain plug on the torque converter. allow all fluid to drain. reinstall drain plug and pan, and fill.
  2. Ford transmissions make installation easy because they come equipped with sensors and contain the proper transmission fluid. By purchasing a Ford transmission assembly, you're getting a product that's built for your vehicle and the exacting specifications of Ford Motor Company
  3. In fact, Car Complaints ranks the 2008 Ford Edge's transmission problem as its third-worst problem across all model years. Nearly 20 owners have experienced transmission failure with their 2008 models, at an average mileage of around 80,000 miles. But its high average repair cost of nearly $3,000 earns it a severity rating of 9.1 (out of 10)
  4. Ford Edge Transmission Slipping Fix. Transmission repair is the most complex and difficult repair for even the most experienced shade tree mechanic. 1. Check the Fluid Level and Health. It's important to start with the easiest to repair and most likely to be causing your Edge's transmission to slip
  5. If you are driving a 2008 Ford EDGE, or if you are planning to purchase one, then it is important that you review reported Power Train Automatic Transmission problems and defects.Total reports: 15. The Contact Owns A 2008 ford edge.While At A Stop Sign ,the Contact Attempted To Accelerate, But The Vehicle Began Going Backwards

My 2008 Ford Edge hit 200K. It is breaking down quickly. I am having transmission problems, the back hatch won't open and the back left rear buckle broke. Ford told me I had to replace the entire seat belt (1k); the shafts (1K) and they have tried to fix the transmission twice at cost 2k problem with power train. jul 20, 2019 - coeur d'alene, id - power train 2008 ford edge while driving on city streets all of a sudden the wrench light came on, airbag light, the mileage odometer blanked out and the speedometer stopped working there was a loss of power. the transmission makes a huge clunking sound and jerks into gear shifting into drive from park and revers Model. We provide an out-the-door price, with shipping, for a replacement remanufactured 6F35 / 6F50 transmission direct to the repair shop. At Street Smart, we provide remanufactured transmissions shipped factory direct at wholesale prices to save you money. We can provide Pennzoil Platinum LV Multi-Vehicle ATF Synthetic Transmission Fluid. FORD and the dealer reserve the right to refuse to replace orders for customers who have made excessive loss and replacement requests determined at the sole discretion of FORD and the dealer. your use of this website including transmission or placement of information or material by you on this website. 2008 Ford Parts | 2008 Ford Edge.

OEM, Aftermarket, Refurbished - Parts Geek®Official Sit

I was told yesterday that it is a transmission problem the cost 5,200 dollars. In November 2014 the car was leaking transmission fluid and was told it was the ptu the car only had 62,000 miles. I was told that was not covered and cost me 1,800 dollars. See all problems of the 2008 Ford Edge If you are driving a 2008 Ford EDGE, or if you are planning to purchase one, then it is important that you review reported Power Train problems and defects.Total reports: 86. Whenever You Accelerate, The Transmission Begins To Jerk. The power Train Problem Indicator Light Will Come On And Go Off. The Car Frequently Jerks. *tr . Mileage was 73453 miles Determine the labor costs by multiplying the quoted number of hours by the shop rate. The shop rate can vary greatly, from as little as $90 per hour to over $150 per hour. So using a low-end shop rate of $110 and a high of $150, the labor on a typical engine replacement can run anywhere from $1,100 to $1,800. See 100 easy car repairs you can do. This is a gathering of notes related to my issues with our Ford Edge, 2007. Particularly the PTO (transfer case) issues. If any of you out there drive an all-wheel-drive Ford Edge, Flex, or 500 or Lincoln MKS be aware these have a time-bomb transfer case issue. When this fails (and it will) it will cost you $1600.00 more or less at a dealer Drop in for a free battery check and, if needed, a replacement battery for your 2008 Ford Edge. Automotive batteries are just one of our many areas of expertise. Our technicians are well-acquainted with Ford's service specs for Edge battery cold cranking amps and reserve capacity

2015 Ford Edge Transmission issues 1 Answer. The problem with the shift solenoid is failing? Car shield and other warranties do not cover electrical parts. Why Ford has not issued a recall? The cost of the repair at Allen Vigil Ford in Atlant.. Ford will notify owners, and dealers will replace the passenger frontal air bag inflator, free of charge. The recall is expected to begin July 11, 2016. Owners may contact Ford customer service at. Find the best used 2008 Ford Edge near you. Every used car for sale comes with a free CARFAX Report. We have 224 2008 Ford Edge vehicles for sale that are reported accident free, 34 1-Owner cars, and 290 personal use cars

2008 Ford Edge Transmission Repair and Replacement Prices

See Also: P0700 Ford Edge. Ford Edge P0741 Defined. The vehicles PCM (Powertrain Control Module) will throw the P0741 trouble code in the Edge if there is a difference that is greater than 200 rpm between the transmission input shaft and the torque converter speed. This is standard for any Ford vehicle made on or after the 1996 model year The reported torque converter replacement costs. The costs to repair a torque converter will greatly depend on the type of car you're driving, the mechanic/dealer you use and your geographical location. To hire a reputable transmission repair shop or dealership, you're looking at spending anywhere from $550 to $1,200, but if you want to do.

2008 Ford Edge Repair: Service and Maintenance Cos

2008 Ford Edge Transmission Fluid Change Prices & Cost

The repair slip on our Freestyle transmission replacement shows a total cost of $3500 plus the rental vehicle. I was told the replacement transmission was factory brand new. Our dealer said that Ford would not provide a rental, so the dealer supplied one. I have no idea if Ford reimbursed them or not At AutoZone, for example, both manual and automatic transmission parts can cost about $50 to $115 on average, but again, this is for the part only. The repair process Once the flywheel is confirmed as the faulty part in question, the car will be hosted and the front wheels and wheel hubs of the car will be removed

Ford Edge Transmission Problems & Cost 6F5

2008 Ford Edge Transmission Failure: 16 Complaint

Ford Transmission Repair Cost ️ Watch Out For A Slipping

Ford Transmission Modulator Valve. At Advance Auto, we carry 32 different types of Transmission Modulator Valve products for your Ford at competitive prices to fit your budget. Save on cost when you find your Ford replacement Transmission Modulator Valve with us. Make sure to compare prices and take a look at the top user reviewed Transmission. Remanufactured & Rebuilt 2008 Ford Edge Transmissions for Sale. No Upfront Core Charge, Up to a 5-Year Unlimited Warranty Plus, Free Shipping!! Monday - Friday 9:00am-9:00pm ET Saturday 10:00am-4:00pm E

Cost to Replace Ford Edge Transmission - 2013 Cost Estimate

Ford Edge Transmission Problems and Repair Descriptions at

I have a 2005 f150 fx4 and I just lost reverse, I'm curious as to how many book hours a shop will charge to replace transmission. thanks for reading ford transmission replace f-150 book-hour Fraser is one of the largest providers of remanufactured engines and transmissions in the United States. Since 1961, Fraser Engines and Transmissions has been providing the best replacement engines, transmissions, differentials, and transfer cases. MATCH or BEAT Any Competitive Pricing. Sell What We Manufacture

Once those lines start to malfunction, then the transmission fluid can overheat. You will pay somewhere between $100 and $450 for a transmission cooler line replacement. The labor should be between $60 and $300, while parts can cost you anywhere from $40-$160 I have a 2010 jeep commander. I have to put oil in it every 2 weeks. When I got the transmission rebuilt I went to get oil change later on they said my rear main seal was damage and need to be replaced. What would it usually cost to replace it on my truck Remanufactured & Rebuilt Ford Transmissions for Sale. No Upfront Core Charge, Up to a 5-Year Unlimited Warranty Plus, Free Shipping!! Monday - Friday 9:00am-9:00pm ET Saturday 10:00am-4:00pm E

All-in-all, the total cost of replacement shouldn't exceed $1,500, but that doesn't include what you may have gone through to figure out that the computer was lying. (Please remember that these repair prices can also fluctuate based on geographic location, as well as vehicle make and model; and that these numbers represent averages, not. Research the 2008 Ford Edge at Cars.com and find specs, pricing, MPG, safety data, photos, videos, reviews and local inventory PTU Power Transfer Unit [Transfer Case] Failure. Post. by mlachap » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:28 pm. My wife loves her 2011 Ford Flex, but this weekend I noticed some dark black oily spots on our garage floor. We brought it into the dealership and they said that the Power Transfer Unit had to be replaced, at a cost of $1,400 There are few vehicle repairs that are as expensive as rebuilding the transmission. A transmission rebuild costs anywhere from $1,428 to $3,015, depending on your model of car and where you get it fixed.That vast range comes from the fact that your transmission may contain parts that are hard to replace or it may have caused extensive damage to other parts of your car Use only the supplied synthetic or OEM approved fluid. STEP 1. Install a funnel into the center speed sensor hole on top of the transmission. Pour in 8 quarts of ATF. Install speed sensors. STEP 2. Install the transmission in the vehicle. After installation, remove the 5/16 hex plug (this is the fill plug). STEP 3

2008 ford edge transmission trouble TSS and Oss Replacemen

If you own a 2007 Ford Edge or 2007 Lincoln MKX and have Ford Edge transmission problems like a harsh shift, no upshift, or have fifth gear only, refer to this Ford Edge service bulletins #07-3-11. The Ford Edge service bulletin addresses trouble codes P0715, P0717, P0718, P0720, P0721, P0722 as well as the symptoms listed above Transmission repair cost can be very expensive and cost to rebuild transmission can range from $1,100 to $3,200, based on your particular car model and where you're taking it to get fixed. Transmission rebuild cost is so high because it has several complex components, most of which are simply irreplaceable and can cause significant damage to. Description: Used 2008 Ford Edge Limited with AWD/4WD, Tire Pressure Warning, Audio and cruise controls on steering wheel, Stability Control, Heated seats. Engine: 6 -cylinders. Transmission. View all 120 consumer vehicle reviews for the Used 2008 Ford Edge on Edmunds, or submit your own review of the 2008 Edge 29,472 Posts. #7 · Aug 6, 2014. LadyBlueJ22 said: I just had to have all 3 engine/transmission mounts replaced. Total cost parts and labor was $550. I was not thrilled, but had no choice....had been told the noise came from strut mount bearings, so had been continuing to drive while ignoring the noise

2008 Ford Escape Transmisson removal/Replacement

Transmission replacement will cost anywhere from $800 to $3,400 depending on the type of transmission you are buying. Used transmissions cost about $1,150 with average prices ranging from $800 to $1,500. Rebuilt transmissions cost about $1,950 with average prices ranging from $1,100 to $2,800. And, remanufactured transmissions cost about $2,350. Changing the transmission fluid on a Ford Ranger should be done when the transmission fluid has changed color from red to a brownish color, indicating clutch material in the fluid, or at regular intervals of 30,000 miles. To change the transmission fluid in a Ranger, you will need one case of transmission fluid and a transmission service kit Ford Windshield Replacement or Repair - Get Local Ford Auto Glass Prices Instantly! 1. Complete this free and simple quote form. 2. Compare competitive quotes from local pros. 3. Instantly schedule your service and save $$$ First time poster here! A little background, I drive a 2008 edge with ~85,000 miles for my main mode of transportation. I have never had transmission issues before and the car has been great up to this point. Likewise, the vehicle was purchased new from the dealer. Two weekends ago my GF and I take a short road trip of about 60miles July 2006. The development of the CVT at Ford was begun in the late 90's during the Jac Nasser era at Ford. Mr. Nasser was shown the door in Oct. 2001. The CVT he was responsible for developing didn't actually make it into any vehicles here in America until the fall of 04 when it appeared in the Freestyle and Ford 500

Remanufactured Ford Transmissions For Sal

Low-cost car computer repair and replacement for Ford ECU / PCU / TCU. 100% money-back guarantee, includes one year warranty plus get free shipping on all orders. 2008 Ford F-150 5.4L V8 Engine Computer. REPLACE PRICE: $349. REPAIR PRICE: $229. Send in your ECU: 2007 Ford Edge 3.5L V6 Engine Computer. REPLACE PRICE: $399. REPAIR PRICE: $229. Part numbers; XT-10-QLVC (Quarts), XT-10-6GLV (6 Gallon Box) and XT-10-DLV (55 Gallon Drum) Ford Specification is MERCON® LV P Premium Automatic Transmission Fluid Part number XT-8-QAW (Quarts), Ford Specification WSS-M2C924-A DCT Dual Clutch Transmisison Fluid Part number XT-11-QDC (Quarts), Ford Specification WSS-M2C200-D2 ULV MERCON® UL According to a class action Ford lawsuit, the typically inexpensive water pump replacement on other vehicles can cost many times more for a Duratec V6 engine. On many vehicles replacing a water pump will cost somewhere around $500, but on Ford cars with a Duratec V6, the repair costs can run into the multiple thousand dollar range Factory Replacement. View Details. $125.00. Estimated to ship directly from the manufacturer on 07/06/21. Lowest Price Guarantee. Add To Cart. 1 Factory Radio Radio Ford 2015-2016 C-ma. 1 Factory Radio 59108501NOA. Part Number: 010-59108501NOA 2. Place gearshift lever in P (Park) (automatic transmission) or R (Reverse) (manual transmission) and turn engine off. 2008 Escape (204) Owners Guide (post-2002-fmt) USA (fus) Page 226 Remove the tools from the jack in order to remove the spare tire from under the vehicle

2008 Ford Edge Transmission - AutoZon

NEWS: Ford is recalling certain 2009-2010 Ford Edge vehicles and Lincoln MKX vehicles; FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE Report Receipt Date: OCT 27, 2015 NHTSA Campaign Number: 15V712000 Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE Potential Number of Units Affected: 110,636 NOV 2015-- Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2009-2010 Ford Edge vehicles manufactured September 11, 2008, to July 1. Used 2015 Ford Edge Engine Options:3.5L (VIN 8, 8th digit) w/o engine oil cooler. Part:e-u-n_5154. Mileage:42K. Price: $1,299.00.

07 08 09 FORD EDGE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FWD 22008 Ford Edge Transmission Solenoids, Sensors, SwitchesFord Edge Transmission Trouble TSS and OSS Replace Vid 2

Gear oil or transmission fluid drops on your driveway are some of the early signs. For example, in a 2008-2011 Ford Escape, a leaking left axle seal in the automatic transmission is one of the common problems. Early symptoms include reddish-brown fluid drops behind the left front wheel, where the left front driveshaft connects to the transmission Ford Motor Company offers a wide range of vehicles, including sedans, sports cars, minivans, SUVs and full-size pickup trucks. Whichever Ford model you own, the transmission is equipped with a speed sensor. The transmission speed sensor is used to monitor and control your speed. The transmission speed sensor sends the.

The Ford Motor Company issued a recall for Ford Escape vehicles manufactured between 2001 - 2008 Ford Escape, as well as 2001 - 2008 Mercury Mariner models that were equipped with a remanufactured CD4E transmission, created between June 11, 2015 and July 15, 2015 Shop Ford Escape Shift Cable Bushing Replacement Kit online at just $19.99 from Bushingfix.com. It is an online store, offers transmission shift cable bushing, shift linkage cable, shift control cable, Ford shift cable, automatic transmission shift cable for Audi, Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Eagle, Fiat, Ford, Genesis, Geo, GMC, Holden, Honda and other vehicles Ford is known for making vehicles that perform well, drive comfortably, and look great, especially with the right maintenance at the right time. The Ford Edge is no exception! Click on your Ford year to view Ford Edge oil, battery, brake, and tire recommendations A major problem reported by Ford Escape owners is transmission failure. In fact, CarComplaints.com reports that the top two complaints about this vehicle are due to transmission failure at approximately 70,000 miles. Car Complaints indicates that the worst years for this particular issue are 2014 and 2008, and there have been more than 120 complaints posted to their site

Most have reported that they've encountered Ford Escape transmission problems with the 2014 and 2006 model years. Some owners have also reported that they had to get their transmissions rebuilt or replaced to resolve the problem, but it cost them a lot, around $4,000 or more, depending on parts and labor Since replacing a transmission valve body can take anywhere from 2 to 4 hours to finish, you must figure the hourly rate of a mechanic is between $60 to $100. This means the least you will pay for labor is $120 and the most you will pay is $400. Therefore, the total average cost of a transmission valve body replacement is between $320 and $900

Hastings® - Ford F-450 Automatic Transmission 2008

Ford Edge PTU rebuilding. Posted to Technical Tips Forum on 3/1/2012 27 Replies. [2008 Ford Edge Limited, Transmission Photo] Bearing preload is set way too tight from the factory on these. Perhaps the Ford description of transfer case fluid that states black pungent smelling oil is normal and does not require replacement or something. The video above shows you how to replace the battery in your 2008 Ford Edge. We recommend changing the battery in Fords every 4 years. Although some batteries last much longer, most batteries begin breaking down chemically after four years, so you could experience dimmer headlights and other negative effects before you have a dead battery in your Edge that you need to replace on may 29, 2009 leak was detected again from ptu unit. ford replaced again! on june 9 2014 vehicle has leaks of ptu and rear differential seal again. out of warranty! estimate cost to repair is $1600. after research the ptu is a problem on the ford edge 2007 and 2008 models. ford will not admit there is a problem. view detail Ford has made its name in the automobile market due to its rugged yet performance- oriented cars. It is popular for its attractive SUVs. Edge is one of the popular models that has raised the bars for other SUVs as well. In 2007 Ford launched a luxury SUV capable of providing both rugged four-wheelers and a sports utility vehicle